The Lumière Prize


The Lumière Prize is awarded to a movieStar for his or her work as a whole and in recognition of his or her links with the history of cinema. 2009, The Lumière Prize is awarded to Clint Eastwood and last year,  to Milos Forman.


The 2011 Lumiere Prize has been awarded to Gerard Depardieu.






Pas si méchant que ça directed by Claude Goretta (1974, 1h52)
1900  directed by Bernardo Bertolucci (Novecento, 1975, 5h25 – 1ère partie: 2h49/2e partie: 2h26)
Dites-lui que je l’aime  directed by Claude Miller (1977, 1h46)
La Nuit tous les chats sont gris  directed by Gérard Zingg (1977, 1h44)
Préparez vos mouchoirs  directed by Bertrand Blier (1978, 1h48)
Le Sucre  directed by Jacques Rouffio (1978, 1h40)
Loulou  directed by Maurice Pialat (1980, 1h57) 
Le Dernier métro  directed by François Truffaut (1980, 2h11)
Le Choix des armes  directed by Alain Corneau (1981, 2h15) 
La Femme d’à côté  directed by François Truffaut (1981, 1h46) 
Danton  directed by Andrzej Wajda (1982, 2h16) 
Le Tartuffe  directed by Gérard Depardieu (1984, 2h20)
Sous le soleil de Satan  directed by Maurice Pialat (1987, 1h37)
Cyrano de Bergerac  directed by Jean-Paul Rappeneau (1990, 2h18)
Le Visiteur  directed by Satyajit Ray (Agantuk, 1991, 2h)
Short Film:
Le Beatnik et le minet  directed by Roger Leenhardt (1965, 20min) 
Grenouille d'hiver  directed by Slony Sow (2011, 17min)



Lyon, September 1992
. A few seconds at most after his arrival, Joseph Mankiewicz, director of Cleopatra and The Barefoot Contessa, felt compelled to find the exact spot where Louis Lumière positioned his camera to make Workers Leaving the Factory. Closing his eyes as he placed his feet on the magical spot, he let out a shout: “Thank you, Lumière!” Great writers who have dedicated their whole life to this art love to return on this historical trail to the birthplace of their discipline – here, where it all began.

The Lumière Institute is often the scene of those enchanted moments that are marked by the infectious emotion of French or foreign film-makers when they come to First-Film Street in front of the Hangar where it all began. Sometimes this emotion is not lacking in irony (Elia Kaza: “I say, are you sure that it was really Lumière and not Edison? “; André de Toth, standing in front of the portrait of Louis in the Winter Garden: “So it’s all your fault?”) but this does not mask the astonished delight that is expressed time and time again. Do literature, music, painting and the other arts have a recognisable place of origin? For the cinema(tograph), this place is First-Film Street in Lyon-Monplaisir, France.

The Lumière Prize was created first and foremost to keep the memory of this emotion alive.This award was also created in Lyon, the birthplace of the Cinematograph, however, because it was fitting to express our gratitude to filmmakers, who are part of our lives. The award is based on time, recognition and admiration.  As Victor Hugo, often quoted by Bertrand Tavernier, wrote: “I admire, like a fool”. And this admiration is intensely present in film history, travelling round it as directors far and near talk to each other, draw inspiration and encourage each other.
The Lumière Prize is awarded to a filmmaker for his or her work as a whole and in recognition of his or her links with the history of cinema. It was launched during the first Lumière Festival in 2009.



The 2011 Lumiere Prize has been awarded to Gerard Depardieu.

2009 : The Lumière Prize is awarded to Clint Eastwood - See the 2009 Lumière Festival (french version)


2010 : The Lumière Prize is awarded to Milos Forman - See the 2010 Lumière Festival (french version)


Photographs : Jean-Luc Mège & Aurélie Raisin

  • Partenaires médias :
  • France Télévision 2011
  • France Inter 2011
  • Variety 2011
  • Le monde 2011
  • Studio Live 2011
  • Petit Bullettin 2011
  • Evene 2011
  • Telerama 2011

  • Partenaires transport :
  • Trans Air France 2011
  • Trans Renault 2011
  • Trans RA 2011
  • Trans RER 2011
  • Trans Sytral 2011